Luna Wolves!

IMG_3988
Lupercal!

The first minis to get a spotlight on the blog are my newly painted Luna Wolves, built from the awesome Betrayal at Calth box.

More details on the first couple of squads after the break.

I am absolutely in love with Mk4 power armor – the clean lines, the squared off kneepads, and most of all, that awesome slanted faceplate on the helmet. The only thing I dislike about it is that the shoulder pad trims are very thin, which makes painting/highlighting them a different color (in this case, black as per the Luna Wolves scheme) a bit of a pain.

IMG_3994
The first pack I painted up as Luna Wolves – they’ll be counting as a Grey Hunter pack on the table.

The painting scheme I went with was relatively simple. I knew from the Heresy FW books that the Luna Wolves wore white armor, and I had been wanting to paint white power armor for some time… it was just a matter of finding the right recipe.

After some experimentation with the whites/light greys that I already owned, I found a winnner in GW Celestra Grey. This gave me a nice solid white/light grey that wasn’t overly bright. I highlighted this with GW Ulthuan Grey and shaded it with GW Nuln Oil – I was tempted to go with GW Drakenhof Nightshade to add a bluish tint to the armor, but realized pretty quickly that the Nuln Oil gave the armor a look that was much more Luna Wolves-ish.

The red bits were done with a GW Mephiston Red basecoat, followed by a GW Agrax Earthshade wash and GW Evil Sunz Scarlet highlight. I use the same recipe for my Blood Angels and it creates a nice, solid medium red.

IMG_3996
Closeup for my yet-unnamed first sergeant.

The minis themselves are almost entirely from the Betrayal at Calth box, but with some Space Wolves bits mixed in. This is most obvious in the wolf pelts seen on the sergeant above. A quick read of the Luna Wolves entry on the 40k wiki notes that officers in the early years of the Legion tended to wear wolf pelts, and I saw this as an opportunity to add some character to the minis.

I’ve decided to use the Space Wolves codex for my Luna Wolves, as I’d wanted to build a Space Wolves army for some time now but wasn’t overly fond of the viking/norse aesthetic of the Space Wolves minis… at least to the extent that the GW studio likes to model them to. I was quite close to building a Space Wolves army using normal 40k marine boxes with Space Wolves bits spread out here and there – thankfully Betrayal at Calth became a thing!

I’ve built and painted up a good chunk of the 1850 point list I’ve worked up, which includes some interesting conversion bits… I’ll post these up in the days to come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

